Raiffeisen 的加密货币交易可能会覆盖 1800 万客户。真正可以交易的有多少?
核心要点
- The app hands the customer to Bitpanda The Austrian bank’s own terms show what a customer gets.The Austrian FAQ says the bank does not take responsibi

Raiffeisen Bank International has built a group agreement with Bitpanda for its Central and Eastern European network. Its Austrian model is real. The 18 million customer figure measures the size of a possible rollout, not customers newly able to place a crypto order.
Summary Raiffeisen and Bitpanda announced a framework on September 23 for 11 Central and Eastern European banking markets.
RBI reports 18.8 million group customers as of June 30, 2026; the release rounds its possible reach to 18 million.
Five of RBI’s 11 regional banking markets are EU members, according to the bank’s network page.
Austrian regional Raiffeisen banks offered Bitpanda access before the RBI agreement, including a Salzburg launch in August 2026.
The Austrian app requires a separate Bitpanda registration and limits access to adult Austrian residents.
Raiffeisen Bank International announced a crypto deal for a network of around 18 million customers on September 23. The number is real as a measure of the bank group’s reach. It is not a count of people who gained crypto trading that day.
The bank’s release, published at 16:00 on September 23, calls its arrangement with Bitpanda Enterprise a group framework. Individual network banks will roll out services progressively to reflect local market needs. No list of launch dates or newly live subsidiaries appears in the announcement. The bank’s June 30 group snapshot counts 18.8 million customers, a more precise figure than the rounded 18 million in the headline.
That leaves a question the customer total cannot answer. How many of those people could open their banking app on September 24 and buy bitcoin through this new agreement? The published release provides no number. It does not identify a newly launched country service.
The deal covers a network, not 18 million accounts switched on
RBI says it has subsidiary banks in 11 Central and Eastern European markets. Bitpanda will supply infrastructure for those banks to offer digital assets. The operative words are will supply and can offer. Each bank’s customer rollout is a later decision, according to the announcement.
RBI’s international network directory identifies the markets as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Kosovo, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia and Ukraine. Five are EU members: Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia. The others are outside the EU. The distinction matters for licences and product availability. An authorization to provide a crypto service across EU member states is not an authorization for every jurisdiction in the banking network.
The release does not assign a go live date to any of the 11. Nor does a bank customer count show how many customers are adults, use a compatible app, pass a new crypto onboarding check, live in a jurisdiction where the product is offered, or choose to trade. Every one of those steps reduces the path from total customers to actual users. None can be quantified from the agreement alone.
A useful audit starts with the named market, then demands a local bank product page, a dated launch notice, terms identifying the provider and evidence that the customer can complete onboarding. A press release about a group agreement satisfies the first step only. It would be false precision to turn the 18 million ceiling into a live access estimate without the later steps.
A market-by-market status check produces a narrower finding than the headline. The network directory verifies the banks, while the partnership release verifies a shared plan. It does not connect any one of those banks to a live Bitpanda consumer product under the new agreement. These are distinct evidence states, not an assertion that a bank can never introduce one or that a local service has been ruled out.
RBI market EU member Status in September 23 Bitpanda release Albania No No named local launch Bosnia and Herzegovina No No named local launch Croatia Yes No named local launch Czech Republic Yes No named local launch Hungary Yes No named local launch Kosovo No No named local launch Romania Yes No named local launch Russia No No named local launch Serbia No No named local launch Slovakia Yes No named local launch Ukraine No No named local launch
That table is deliberately about disclosure in the announcement. It does not certify the absence of any unrelated crypto product at each bank, and it does not show that Bitpanda lacks a local licence. Its point is auditable: the company placed 11 banking markets next to an 18 million customer number without publishing an 11 market activation list. A subsequent country notice could change a row immediately.
The arithmetic of reach is therefore bounded on one side but not measured on the other. The upper number is the rounded group customer figure. The lower bound of customers newly enabled by the September announcement cannot be determined from public information, because the company did not disclose first day activation. Reporting the lower bound as zero would be just as unjustified as reporting all 18 million as active. A framework can exist before a customer sees anything new in an app.
There is a less obvious classification issue. A customer can belong to a bank group without being a retail mobile app customer eligible to open an investment account. The published total combines the group’s customer relationships across its network; the release does not provide the subset with a compatible mobile product, nor does it split corporate customers from retail customers for this partnership. Those missing pieces prevent even a reliable potential-user estimate.
The Austrian model exists outside the new CEE count
Bitpanda and RBI point to a working precedent. Raiffeisen Landesbank Niederoesterreich-Wien began offering access to Bitpanda in its banking environment in 2024. Its current customer page describes a route through the Mein ELBA app, trading from EUR 1 and recurring plans from EUR 10. The app asks a bank account holder to register for a personal Bitpanda account.
A second Austrian regional institution, Raiffeisen Salzburg, said on September 21 that its Bitpanda access had been available since August 2026. It described more than 650 crypto coins and tokens reachable from Mein ELBA. The local release says the banking app provides the route to an external provider and that Bitpanda performs the trades.
These are live product examples, not proof that an RBI subsidiary in Croatia, Romania or another CEE market is live under the September 23 framework. The corporate distinction is easy to miss because both sides use the Raiffeisen name. RBI’s own ownership diagram shows regional Austrian Raiffeisen banks owning around 61.17% of RBI, while the 11 CEE banks are its regional subsidiaries. The Austrian partnerships demonstrate a model that might be copied. They cannot be counted as launches inside the new 11 market program.
The two agreements should not be silently added together to produce a bigger customer pool. Even the 18.8 million figure is a group customer total, not 18.8 million distinct prospective crypto accounts. No customer conversion rate is supplied. Crypto.news’ initial report on the RBI deal described the reach as potential, which is the right qualification for the announced arrangement.
The app hands the customer to Bitpanda
The Austrian bank’s own terms show what a customer gets. On the Niederoesterreich-Wien product FAQ, a customer needs both a Raiffeisen account and an active Mein ELBA app. They then register for Bitpanda. The bank requires customers to be at least 18, hold a valid photo ID and reside in Austria.
The contractual split is more important than the app’s appearance. The page says customers become Bitpanda customers through the app’s Bitpanda access. It says purchases and sales take place exclusively with Bitpanda and assets are held inside Bitpanda’s structure. The bank receives a fee from Bitpanda for its access services. Austria previously fined Bitpanda EUR 70,000 under MiCA, another reason to identify the regulated provider accurately rather than describing the banking app as the trading venue. It says it is not itself providing the crypto or securities service and is not liable for Bitpanda’s performance.
That is a distribution model. The bank supplies the familiar entrance and payment account; Bitpanda provides the specialist transaction and asset service. Raiffeisen Salzburg states an equivalent limit in plain terms: it offers access, while Bitpanda handles the trading. Its product disclosure identifies Bitpanda GmbH as the provider authorized by the Austrian Financial Market Authority under MiCA.
The economics run in both directions. A bank can add an investment function without building its own full trading infrastructure. Bitpanda can reach banking customers through a channel that already has their attention. Under the Austrian arrangement, the bank is compensated by Bitpanda. The parties have not disclosed the fee formula or said whether the new group arrangement uses identical commercial terms. A separate Bitpanda infrastructure agreement with IG Europe illustrates that distribution partnerships can differ in the type of partner and customer service offered. A statement about revenue for the CEE banks would therefore go further than the public record permits.
The phrase inside the banking environment can imply a seamless handoff, but even the mature Austrian offering requires a separate Bitpanda identity. Raiffeisen’s page directs the user to the app’s Discover section, then to an individual Bitpanda registration. A registered banking customer is not automatically an approved crypto customer. Bitpanda can apply its own onboarding criteria in addition to the bank’s age, identification and residency requirements.
That is not an incidental footnote. If the bank reaches millions of users but only a fraction of them complete crypto onboarding, the actual product population will be smaller than the bank’s customer base. The difference cannot be computed by treating installation of Mein ELBA as a proxy: having the app, finding the offer, applying, being accepted and placing a first order are separate events. The September release reports none of those figures for the new partnership.
The fee disclosure supplies another reason to keep roles straight. The Niederoesterreich-Wien page explicitly says Bitpanda pays Raiffeisen for access services. It does not publish the amount or say that the bank takes a percentage of each trade. Customers are told that trading fees will be displayed before they place an order. There may be a commercial benefit to the bank if customers adopt the product, but the terms alone do not let a reporter calculate that benefit. A projected revenue figure made by multiplying 18 million by a guessed trading fee would conflate account holders, traders, volumes and a confidential commercial arrangement.
For a customer, the legal boundary matters when something goes wrong. The Austrian FAQ says the bank does not take responsibility for Bitpanda’s service. That language is not a finding that a customer has no protection, and it cannot be copied into the terms of a not yet launched RBI subsidiary. It does show that bank branding and legal responsibility can sit in different places. A country launch should be read from its own contracts before a reporter tells customers whom to contact about execution or assets.
A bank app does not mean a bank holds the coins
The distinction affects what users can do after buying. The Austrian product page says transfers of assets from another crypto exchange into the app’s Bitpanda service are not possible. It advertises immediate movement of funds through the linked Raiffeisen account, but that does not imply an unrestricted crypto wallet integrated into the bank account. Trading fees appear before an order is confirmed.
The bank’s page places Bitpanda branded stock and commodity offerings next to crypto, then notes that those branded products are derivatives, not direct ownership of the shares or commodities. The point is not that every product has the same legal form. It is that the menu inside a bank app can contain several distinct agreements, issuers and risk exposures. The app’s single interface does not turn them into bank deposits.
This is the detail to seek when the first CEE subsidiary announces its own launch. Which legal entity contracts with the customer? Who has custody of the crypto asset? Does the app permit transfers to an outside wallet? How are trading fees shown? Will the customer have to open a separate Bitpanda account? The Austrian answer is documented. The CEE answer has not been announced market by market.
The existing arrangement gives a workable reporting test because an advertised service leaves traces: a product page, onboarding criteria, provider identity and terms. Counting those traces is more informative than counting a bank’s total customers. It can be repeated when each local RBI subsidiary makes an announcement.
A good rollout count needs a consistent definition. A bank announcing that its app has a Bitpanda tile is a narrower milestone than customers being able to complete an order. A registration path open to a small pilot group is narrower than availability to all eligible retail customers. A countrywide statement is narrower again than a reported active customer count. If RBI eventually reports a single group adoption figure, the methodology will matter: users who clicked through, accounts opened at Bitpanda and customers who actually purchased an asset are different populations.
The Austrian pages show why the last step is not assured by the first. A person can see Bitpanda inside Mein ELBA but be ineligible for the service because of residence or age, or decide against registering. A completed registration need not lead to a trade. A successful trade need not imply a customer moved assets outside Bitpanda. Each funnel stage has a different question attached. Bank announcements tend to state the broadest one because it makes the partnership legible. Financial reporting needs the narrowest verifiable one.
